Bethany helps Bann hand out awards

The Banbridge swimmers show off their awards.
The Banbridge swimmers show off their awards.

Banbridge Amateur Swimming Club held their prize giving evening on Tuesday 17th June

Special guest was Bethany Firth, who even brought her medals along.

Julia Knox collects the Committee Cup from chairman Mark Wilson.

Julia Knox collects the Committee Cup from chairman Mark Wilson.

She has plenty of those as Bethany won Paralympic gold in 100m Backstroke in 2012, the following year adding World Championship silver in 100 Brest, 100 Back and 200 IM. In 2014 she became World Record Holder in 100 Brest, 100 Back and 200IM.

For the young Aquasprint swimmers 7 – 11yrs who had a great year remaining in Division One and coming third overall out of 25 Ulster clubs. In the Provincial Town League 9yrs to senior level, the local club were runners up in First Division with group A the overall group winners.

In the open gala competitions the Banbridge club had outstanding success throughout the year winning a haul of medals from all the Ulster competitions. Those achieving Ulster squad times were Maeve Cleland, Ellie Purdy, Jessica Robinson and Julia Knox.

The OVERALL WINNERS in each age group were presented as follows:

Special guest Bethany Firth alongside club coach Graham Knox.

Special guest Bethany Firth alongside club coach Graham Knox.

Girls 8yrs & under - Katie McFarlane

Boys 8yrs & under - Bailey Breen

Girls 10yrs & unde - Rachel Blemmings

Boys 10yrs & under - Peter Bigley

Girls 12yrs & under - Julia Knox

Boys 12yrs & under - Ryan Bigley

Girls 14yrs & under - Kathryn Allenby

Boys 14yrs & under - Christopher Morrow

Senior Girls - Megan McKenna

Senior Boys - Ross Johnston

The RUNNER – UP Trophies were presented to:

Girls 8yrs & under - Megan Williams

Boys 8yrs & under - Pearse Rice

Girls 10yrs & under - Jennifer Morrow

Boys 10yrs & under - Niall McGeown

Girls 12yrs & under - Maeve Cleland

Boys 12yrs & under - Patrick Doyle

Girls 14yrs & under - Olivia Knox

Boys 14yrs & under - Harry Farson

Senior Girls - Aoife Cleland


After the clubs successful year in the Aquasprint League, the top female swimmer award went to Julia Knox and the top male swimmer was Ryan Bigley.

Awards were also presented to all the group D swimmers for their contribution. They were Ruby McNiff, Aidin Quinn, Zoe Kilpatrick, Kathryn McGrath, Rachel Allenby, Dawson Patterson, Adam Wilson, Daniel Brown and Evan Calvert.

In the Provincial Town League, Kathryn Allenby was awarded the top female swimmer with Patrick Doyle the top male swimmer. Most promising senior swimmers were Rebecca Pinkerton and Julia Knox who have excelled throughout the season. Most improved seniors were Ruby McNiff, Adam Wilson and Kathryn McGrath.

Top Junior swimmers were Rachel Blemmings and Peter Bigley whom have had an outstanding year. Most promising junior was Katie McFarlane who has showed determination and has great potential.

Most improved junior swimmers were Jennifer Morrow, Issac Forsythe and Ciara Daly all whom have progressed throughout the season.

Best Newcomers were Pearse Rice, Caelan McCracken, Ellie Bingham and Pearse Rice.

Receiving The Kearney Family Shield for overall Best Newcomer was Maeve Cleland.

The Armstrong Cup was presented to Aisling Fusicardi and Oriana Thompson for effort and commitment.

Achievement Awards were presented to all the swimmers whom qualified for Irish National Division One and Irish youth:

Kathryn Allenby, Rachel Blemmings, Maeve Cleland, Julia Knox, Emma McElderry, Kathryn McGrath, Megan McKenna, Ruby McNiff, Becki Pinkerton, Ellie Purdy, Jessica Robinson, Poppy Robinson, Rachel Smyth, Jenny Wilson, Ellie Wright, Alex Donnelly, Patrick Doyle, Ross Johnston, Kyle Mawhinney, Patrick McNiff, Christopher Morrow and William Pinkerton,

And for Division 2 qualifiers:

Charlotte Campbell, Jodi Doyle, Zoe Kilpatrick, Olivia Knox, Aidin Quinn, Elli Robinson, Peter Bigley, Ryan Bigley, Harry Farson, Declan McGeown, Niall McGeown, Dawson Patterson, Caolan Quinn, Eunan Quinn and Adam Wilson.

Special Achievement awards were presented to Julia Knox, Jessica Robinson, Maeve Cleland and Ellie Purdy for obtaining Ulster squad times.

Endeavour awards were presented to Peter McGrath, Carter Bell and Charlotte Farson.

Coach Lane awards were presented to swimmers whom the coaches thought showed good attitude to training and were as follow; Cathal Hill, Bailey Breen, Olivia Miskimmons, Charlotte Farson,

Sarah McEvoy, Dia McCrory, Ronan Quinn, Niall McGeown, Kathryn McGrath, Aaron Brown, Adam Wilson, Ruby McNiff, William Pinkerton and Julia Knox.

For the ‘Fields of Life’ charity swim, certificates designed by Stephen Farson were presented to all those who participated with Aaron Brown receiving his award for the most lengths swam. Cathal and Taylor Hill were presented with an award for the biggest fundraisers.

Last but now least the Committee Cup was presented to a swimmer who has contributed most to the club during the last year for attitude, attendance, performance, commitment and the committee was proud to present Julia Knox with the trophy.