Wilson wins it as top two battle heats up

editorial image

Kevin Wilson won the battle against his namesake last week to claim the Quinn Cup.

On a glorious Wednesday evening on the Lurgan Road in Dromore, a total of 31 riders signed on for the TT, includeing three visiting riders.

Kevin Wilson came in with a time of 24:30, Kevin McAlinden only 30 seconds behind him. It’s hotting up for a great battle with these two time trial flyers for the season.

With Hazel and Anne doing a great job on time keeping duties and setting riders off two minutes apart. Neil McAlister got the short straw (on the winter bike) of first rider off, closely followed by Dave Lavery - he’s hitting great form now and rode a 26.20.

Everyone was feeling good on the way out to the five mile turning point, then a nice head wind home.

There was a real battle tonight with the Glover family; Sara, Lee and Charlie all racing against the clock, with Lee just pipping Charlie with a 27:46, but the youngster hot on his dad’s heels with a 28:24.

There were two debuts; Nigel McCullough recording 30:26 and Mark Stewart with a stomping effort of 26:45 - well done lads great performances.

With Chis Burns finding his form again with a 26:31 and Peter McBride making light work of the head wind home with his fastest time to date (27:21). Allan Black came steaming home (28:15) after a Neil Teggart bike fit made all the difference.

On a sunny Wednesday evening with almost all riders getting within seconds of, or beating, their target time, Stevie and Ivor are going to be kept busy this year working on handicaps.

Alan and his team are doing a great job keeping the team safe on the road.

Name Time

Kevin Wilson 00:24:30

Kevin McAlinden 00:25:00

Phil Beattie 00:25:43

Nathan Sturrock 00:25:48

Dan Purdy 00:25:52

Andy Beattie 00:26:18

David Lavery 00:26:20

Chris Burns 00:26:31

Mark Stewart 00:26:45

JP Rice 00:26:58

Malcolm Jenkins 00:27:16

Peter McBride 00:27:21

Mark Kendall 00:27:43

Lee Glover 00:27:46

Brian Curran 00:27:59

Johnny Lyons 00:28:14

Alan Black 00:28:15

Neil McAlister 00:28:19

Charlie Glover 00:28:24

Marty Fitzpatrick 00:28:30

Nigel McCullough 00:30:26

Gerard Byrne 00:30:32

Paul Anderson 00:31:33

Sara Glover 00:32:08

Paul Hannigan 00:32:42

Ryan Moore 00:33:23

Shenna McK DNF

Joe Penny DNF

Rodney Stewart (Vis) 00:23:55

Neil McCartan (Vis) 00:26:53

Andrew McClintock (Vis)00:30:12